Gobble, Gobble, Gobble

Despite what you might think, I have not dropped off the face of the earth…..I have however spent a great weekend with my sister Hope, who after being discouraged from dying the stuffing blue, was a fantastic cooks assistant.

I’m sure that you will remember my very awesome $250-spent-at-Superstore turkey, well this 13lb baby was the first turkey cooked in my own home. I was very excited by this, even though the majority of people didn’t understand because I have done dinners like this before; however never with only my limited cookware and without a guru to see me through it.

It was however an unmitigated success, I was thrilled. Although we didn’t have a camera on hand, which really upset me, it went something like this.

Hope made the stuffing, sans blue dye. Seasoned with sage, thyme, marjoram and rosemary, we threw in the standard of onions, some red pepper finely chopped and green onions for colour.

The Turkey cooked for 4.5 hours at 350 and was seasoned with sage, thyme and rosemary. The rosemary for me was quite a change, it gave both the bird and the stuffing an amazing smell and of course, it is for remembrance, which for Thanksgiving, seemed appropriate.

To go with all of this we opted for mashed potatoes with Classico’s Alfredo Sauce, which were phenomenal. Candied Yams and california veggies with shredded cheese. I thought this would be more health conscious than cheese sauce. And gravy of course.

The candied yams were really easy, boil your yams for 15-20 minutes, after cutting them of course. In a sauce pan boil 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 brown sugar for 3 minutes. Drain and place yams in baking dish, add sauce and bake for 1/2 hour. Give it a shot and let me know what you think!

Dinner was a success, the turkey was cooked, I only burned myself once and desert was a hit. The pumpkin pie recipe was pretty simple, a can of evaporated milk, 1 cup pumpkin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and garlic, baked at 425 for 15 minutes and then at 350 for 45 minutes. The strawberry jello pie with graham cracker crust and whipping cream was a big hit too.

Whipping cream is one of those things we all seem to buy in those pre-whipped cans, myself however I prefer to opt for the un-whipped carton of whipping cream and whip it myself. Just add a bit of sugar and pull out your hand-held mixer…you will save money and have a much tastier alternative.

All in all dinner went off without a hitch, we had enough to feed all 7 attendees, with enough left overs for me to attempt turkey soup.

 

Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

